VEP News

Vacancy, Employees, & Pension News

Internet outage: Here’s why major websites are suddenly not working

The internet is facing a major outage with big websites like Amazon, Reddit, Twitch, Financial Times, New York Times, Bloomberg News and others not loading. Most websites rely on cloud service providers and Content Delivery Networks (CDN) to run their content. An outage like this occurs when a particular service provider faces a technical glitch.
In this case, an American cloud service provider called Fastly reported a downtime. The company reported the outage on June 8, 2021 at 09:58 UTC (or 3:28PM IST) and said, “We’re currently investigating potential impact to performance with our CDN services.”
One of the reasons as to why most media and news websites are suffering the downtime is because Fastly is very popular in the online media industry.
The cloud service provider is facing a major downtime across the globe with severe impact in North America and South America. Fasty’s operations in India — based out of New Delhi, Chennai and Mumbai — too seem to have been affected as it has reported these regions as “Degraded Performance.”
Fastly said in an update at 10:57 UTC or 4.27PM IST, “The issue has been identified and a fix has been applied. Customers may experience increased origin load as global services return.”
While the company claimed that the issue has been fixed, it may take some time for websites to be up and running again. Gradually, during the day, the services are expected to be normal.

Source link